ActiVAtE

Nov. 01, 2019 to Oct. 01, 2022

The joint project ActiVAtE (“Activity Tracking Data to Understand Volition, Attrition and Engagement towards Healthy Behaviors in Diabetic Patients and Controls”) aims to collect data on the physical activity of people with and without diabetes using wearables such as Smartwatches. In cooperation with several project partners, FOKUS will evaluate the collected data which will then be made available for further interdisciplinary purposes.

The use of mobile devices and apps can promote and maintain individual motivation to participate in physical activities in the long term. Healthcare Apps and Smartwatches are already used in many places for the assessment, diagnosis and treatment of diseases. Within the ActiVAte project, they will be used to collect activity data and motivate up to 3000 participants.

The observation of the test persons' physical activities will be carried out over a year and will amount to a total of about one million human days. Each Smartwatch generates several measurements per minute from different sensors throughout the day. Based on the interaction of these measurements, specially developed algorithms can be used to determine whether the test persons are either sitting, or if they’re currently moderately to highly physically active. Several times a day, this data is sent to the test subjects' smartphones and from there, as soon as an Internet connection is available, to the University of Vechta for storage and processing.

The amount of data resulting from the measurements is too large and complex to be analyzed using manual and traditional data processing techniques. In this project, Fraunhofer FOKUS is therefore responsible for developing an energy-efficient and selective transmission and processing system. In addition, FOKUS will design the applications on the Smartwatches, as well as additional mobile devices through which the data can be selected and collected in an orderly fashion. Fraunhofer FOKUS also created the technical design for data storage and backup.

ActiVAtE is centered on the acquisition and the processing of Big Data – data generated by the activity trackers and combined with individual health data and socio-economic data – with a focus on diabetes and prevention of age-related chronic diseases.

The information obtained on the activity of people with and without diabetes can be used to formulate concrete individualized health goals for physical activity. The research results should enable the recording and maintenance of physical activity for a large number of participants and maximise treatment adherence through new findings in the area of motivation. The data collected in the project will be used to create a comprehensive database on which future projects on health and activity can also draw.

The project is made possible by a cooperation with the University of Vechta, the Vechta Clinic, the Potsdam University of Applied Sciences for Sport and Management and a diabetology practice in Vechta. The Volkswagen Foundation is providing ActiVAtE with a grant of one million euros over three years.

ActiVAtE

01. Nov. 2019 bis 01. Okt. 2022

Im Verbundprojekt ActiVAtE (»Activity Tracking Data to Understand Volition, Attrition and Engagement towards Healthy Behaviors in Diabetic Patients and Controls«) sollen Daten zur körperlichen Aktivität von Menschen mit und ohne Diabetes mithilfe von sogenannten Wearables bzw. Smartwatches erhoben werden. Gemeinsam mit mehreren Projektpartnern wertet FOKUS die gesammelten Daten aus, welche in Folge für weitere interdisziplinäre Zwecke bereitgestellt werden.

Der Einsatz von mobilen Geräten und Apps kann die individuelle Motivation zur Teilnahme an sportlichen Aktivitäten fördern und langfristig aufrechterhalten. Healthcare-Apps und Smartwatches werden bereits vielerorts zur Beurteilung, Diagnose und Behandlung von Krankheiten eingesetzt, und sollen im Rahmen des ActiVAte Projekts gezielt zur Datenerhebung und Motivation von bis zu 3000 Teilnehmenden eingesetzt werden.

Die Beobachtung der sportlichen Aktivität der Probanden erfolgt über ein Jahr und beläuft sich insgesamt auf etwa eine Million Menschentage. Dabei generiert jede Smartwatch ganztägig aus verschiedenen Sensoren mehrere Messungen pro Minute. Auf der Grundlage der Interaktion dieser Messungen kann mit Hilfe speziell entwickelter Algorithmen bestimmt werden, ob die Probanden sitzend, mäßig oder intensiv körperlich aktiv sind. Mehrmals täglich werden die Daten an das Smartphone der Testpersonen gesendet und von dort, sobald eine Internetverbindung besteht, zur Speicherung und Verarbeitung an die Universität Vechta geschickt.

Die aus den Messungen resultierenden Datenmengen sind zu umfangreich und komplex, um sie mit manuellen und traditionellen Datenverarbeitungstechniken zu analysieren. Im Projekt entwickelt Fraunhofer FOKUS daher ein energieeffizientes und selektives Übertragungs- und Aufbereitungssystem. Zusätzlich übernimmt FOKUS das Design der Applikationen auf den Smartwatches, sowie zusätzlichen Mobilgeräten, durch welche die Daten selektiert und geordnet erhoben werden können. Darüber hinaus hat Fraunhofer FOKUS das technische Design zur Datenspeicherung und -sicherung entworfen.

ActiVAtE konzentriert sich auf die Erfassung und Verarbeitung von Big Data - Daten, die von den Aktivitäts-Trackern generiert und mit individuellen Gesundheitsdaten und sozioökonomischen Daten kombiniert werden - mit dem Schwerpunkt Diabetes und Prävention altersbedingter chronischer Krankheiten.

Aus den gewonnenen Informationen zur Aktivität von Menschen mit und ohne Diabetes können konkrete individualisierte Gesundheitsziele für körperliche Aktivitäten formuliert werden. Die Forschungsergebnisse sollen die Erfassung und Aufrechterhaltung der körperlichen Aktivität für eine große Anzahl von Teilnehmern ermöglichen und durch neue Erkenntnisse im Bereich der Motivation Therapietreue maximieren. Aus den erhobenen Daten entsteht im Projekt eine umfangreiche Datenbank, auf welche sich auch zukünftige Projekte zum Thema Gesundheit und Aktivität stützen können.

Das Projekt wird durch eine Kooperation mit der Universität Vechta, dem Klinikum Vechta, der Fachhochschule für Sport und Management Potsdam und einer Diabetologischen Schwerpunktpraxis in Vechta ermöglicht. Die Volkswagenstiftung stellt ActiVAtE über drei Jahre eine Förderung von einer Million Euro zu Verfügung.